You Guessed It! More Librarians in Songs

Librarians just seem to be popular in all forms of popular culture, so another list.

Nick Cave! There She Goes My Beautiful World  is not really about libraries or librarians…but it is literary! I just really wanted to include Nick Cave. Could you blame me? 

Swinging London by Magnetic Fields is another stretch with one mention of a library. Why not, I ask you!?

Green Day’s At the Library does not have a happy ending; boy does not get girl. I’m assuming the song takes place in a library but other than the title, there is no other mention of libraries. 

Shouting in the Library by Popple…love it! A few lines in there most librarians can relate to.

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart sing about lust in the library in Young Adult Friction. Apparently libraries are great locations for sex (not!). 

Hilarious video by MC Poindexter and the Study Crew rapping out the Library Rap. Rife with stereotypes again…sigh…this song was taken from an episode from the 1990’s series, Sliders. 

Sweet Librarian by Railroad Jerk is a fun song if you can find it. I wasn’t able to include this song to listen to but if you’re interested, you can listen to a sample of it in iTunes. It’s an odd hillbilly song about someone crushing on a librarian. The lyrics are below:

Swee-eeeet librarian
What good books can you recommend?
Swee-eeeet librarian
Do you think that we could still be friends?

After everything that we’ve been through
Your books on time and mine overdue
I can’t help it if I have a cough
What days do you have off?

Swee-eeeet librarian
Four more days until the weekend
I-hiiiigh have been
Thinkin that we could still be friends

Is this reference or a circulating?
Would you like to go rollerblading?
I can’t help it if I have a cough
What days do you have off?

Sweeeeeet librarian
Sweeeeeet librarian
Sweeeeeet librarian
What good books can yooouuuu recommend?

Melvil Dewey is a children’s rap artist and has a CD called Deweylicious: Library Hip Hop…eeep! I don’t have a sample of this either so if you’re curious, you can listen to samples through iTunes (again). It includes such enticing titles as Dewey Decimal Rap and Evil Librarian. Listen at your own risk!

That’s it! Again, I ask if you enjoy these posts, comments go a long way for me to feel inspired to continue with this blog. Am I shamelessly begging? You bet!!!

2 responses to “You Guessed It! More Librarians in Songs

  1. Is it too late to comment? Lol.

    I, of course, loved this! I went back and read all your other song-related entries too :)

    Head Over Heels was filmed in my college’s library :D Plus I secretly love Tears for Fears.

    Also, The Dewey Decimal Rap is the most annoying song on the face of the planet. Awesome because of it’s library theme and (I hope) tongue-in-cheek humour, but it will get stuck in your head and gnaw away at your frontal lobe.

Leave a Reply

