Even More Librarians on TV!

I had no idea that librarians were so prolific! Okay, maybe that’s a stretch, but, here’s another dose of librarians featured on TV.

I was surprised at myself for missing this first one with my last post on the subject. This librarian used to scare the living #&%! out of me at a much younger age! This is a segment of The Librarian from The Hilarious House of Frightenstein.  It was one of my favourite shows growing up but the librarian was just so damned creepy! It’s funny to watch now as I’ve since realized it was never scary but kudos to Billy Van who played the character to perfection!

This next example could fall under the category of either TV or movie since it’s a movie made for TV. I decided on TV obviously :) It’s a typical little story about a possessed house…the scene I’m sticking in here involves the death of a helpful librarian. Don’t worry if you’re squeamish…no blood, just some screaming :)

I wasn’t able to find a video of the the next librarian, but Kathy Kinney (best known for her role as Mimi on The Drew Carey Show) starred as Miss Prudence Goddard, the town librarian on Newhart for a season. I couldn’t even find a picture of her in the role so I’m just posting a random scene from Newhart…just because!

This Friends episode proves that you can have fun in the library! However, I don’t recommend this kind of activity at your local branch :)

Reading Rainbow was a fantastic program for children featuring  books and encouraging reading and starring LeVar Burton (best known as Geordie from Star Trek: The Next Generation). In this episode, Alistair in Outer Space, LeVar takes the viewer on a tour of the Library of Congress. You can watch the entire 30 minute episode here.

The Lucy Show! Anyone remember this one?! In this episode, Lucy decides to get a roommate, who happens to be Carol Burnette, and who also happens to be a librarian. Lots of stereotyping here but Lucille Ball and Carol Burnette…what a combination!

My last example features a library starring Eugene Levy as Bobby Bittman from SCTV. Rob Ford needs to watch this!

I wouldn’t be surprised if I missed some and if I have, I would appreciate any suggestions. Again, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

