Yay! Librarians in Movies Part II!

I can’t believe how many movies I missed in  my first post on this subject! So, here’s another one :)

Two movies had been suggested to me with my first post, so I’ll start with those…Desk Set starring Katherine Hepburn as the feisty librarian, Bunny (but didn’t she always play “feisty”!?). A fun Tracy and Hepburn movie  that takes place in the reference department of a television and radio station.

The other librarian movie suggested (that I overlooked) is Party Girl starring the fiesty (another pattern?) Parker Posey (who I love!) as Mary. She goes from party girl to library clerk and discovers her true calling…how can you not love that!? The scene below is funny…however, I don’t recommend handling that particular scenario the way Mary does : )

And just when I thought Noah Wylie from The Librarian series of movies was the only male librarian (in a movie), I found some more! Peter Sellers portrays John Lewis  in Only Two Can Play. He’s a “henpecked” husband (why are women always referred to as hens!?! I think I prefer tigers!)  who works as a librarian in a small Welsh town. His life becomes more complicated when a wife of a local councillor sets her sights on him.

Jason Robards is, yup, a librarian in Something Wicked This Way Comes. This movie is based on the Ray Bradbury book by the same name. The story involves two boys and a demonic circus with the frightening and mysterious Mr. Dark handing out wishes that are too good to be true, and the heroic (yes, I did say heroic) librarian, Charles Halloway. This is a Disney flick but it’s darker than what you’d expect.

The Shawshank Redemption features a male librarian and Tim Robbins as Andy Dufresne who assists in the prison library. If you haven’t seen this movie yet, do yourself a favour and SEE IT! Fantastic movie!

The Gun in Betty Lou’s Handbag stars Penelope Ann Miller as Mrs. Elizabeth Louise ‘Betty Lou’ Perkins. She portrays a librarian in a small town who confesses to a murder that she didn’t commit…just for the attention! She is, surprise surprise, a mousy librarian!

Tony Randall plays 8 roles in the 7 Faces of Dr. Lao. I still remember being freaked out by this movie as a child. Barbara Eden plays the librarian Angela who is seduced by Pan from a mysterious…circus?!. Adventure and seduction…just what every librarian needs!

This last one is one of my favourite movies, The Station Agent. It stars Peter Dinklage as Finn who inherits a train depot where he takes up residence. He’s a loner by choice but some of the locals  essentially  worm their way into his life. The librarian character is not a main character but I really wanted to recommend this movie :) Finn visits the local library where Emily (portrayed by Michelle Williams) is the pretty librarian/library clerk/library assistant? This is a slow moving, character-driven movie so not for all tastes but I loved it!

So, what Hollywood is essentially trying to tell us is that we librarians are boring wallflowers and are in need of a good adventure to turn all of that around. And Hollywood always knows what it is talking about! I hope you enjoyed this list…I’m looking at more!

One response to “Yay! Librarians in Movies Part II!

  1. There are hundreds of films featuring librarians, and two blogs dedicated to the subject. For an exhaustive list visit Reel Librarians (http://reel-librarians.com/). A more journalistic take, and reviews on individual films, can be found on Libraries at the Movies (http://librariesatthemovies.blogspot.com/)

Leave a Reply

