Book Review Number Two: The King of Scary!

My next book review is on a book that has scared me like no other! Gerald’s Game by Stephen King

The plot is relatively simple…Jessie and her husband Gerald have started a little sex game in their cabin (in which no one knows they have gone to…of course!) when Gerald dies quite suddenly. Unfortunately, Jessie is handcuffed to the headboard on the bed. Some aspects of the story are quite gruesome (which should come as no surprise given the author), but King does an amazing job of getting inside a woman’s head.

Now, the reason this was the scariest book I’ve read is that it contains a small section (just a few pages) that had the most terrifying scene I have ever read! I actually had to put the book down and walk away as I couldn’t handle the fear and tension any longer! Never has a book had that effect on me…most books don’t really scare me at all! My library has the subject heading of “terror” for this one…appropriate much!?

This book is definitely not for all tastes and I’m sure not everyone will be as affected as I was but I will never be able to listen to The Joker by Steve Miller the same way again!

P.S. My apologies for the overuse of exclamation marks. However they were needed for this particular book!

Leave a Reply

