Movies, My Favourite Subject! Let’s Include Librarians!

This is the famous Marian the Librarian from The Music Man.

And of course, it falls into the stereotypical librarian category with the buttoned up collar, the hair in a bun, the glasses, and of course, the straight-laced attitude combined with the no-nonsense “shhhh!” Of course, I wouldn’t mind looking like the lovely Shirley Jones. Anyway, this post is devoted to librarians in movies so here we go…

Our first stop (after Marian) is the equally lovely Donna Reed portraying the not so lovely spinster Mary from 1946’s  It’s a Wonderful Life. This is what happens when you don’t marry the man of your dreams and end up a lonely spinster and become…egads! A librarian! Don’t get me wrong, I love the movie, I’m just amused by this :) After all, I’m a spinster and a librarian…hmmm…

In 1973’s The Wicker Man, Ingrid Pitt plays against stereotype as a librarian in a small village who practices witchcraft in the nude! However, note the Princess Leia hairstyle.

In 1978, Goldie Hawn plays Gloria Mundy in Foul Play (a movie that I have to admit to a deep abiding love), a librarian caught up in mystery and intrigue alongside Chevy Chase. She starts off as a spinster with a boring life but discovers murder, romance, and excitement throughout the movie. There’s a scene in the library that gave me quite a scare as a child involving an…albino…

There were two librarian’s in Ghostbusters:

The live one who was scared by the dead one

that then turned into the ugly one

Need I say more?

Rachel Weisz starts off as a klutzy librarian in The Mummy but transforms into a beautiful creature after meeting the right man and experiencing adventure and excitement (hmmm, sounds familiar…). Anyhow, she states, with great pride:

Evelyn: Look, I… I may not be an explorer, or an adventurer, or a treasure-seeker, or a gunfighter, Mr. O’Connell, but I am proud of what I am.
Rick: And what is that?
Evelyn: I… am a librarian!

Ooh! I’m excited, my last choice is a male librarian! And a cute one! There’s three in the series and it’s about a librarian in charge of a collection that I wouldn’t mind looking after, that goes on tremendous adventures. Methinks I don’t get out often enough! The first is called The Librarian: Quest for the Spear and the rest you can look up :) They’re great fun to watch and obviously not to be taken too seriously.

That’s it for now. I realise there are far more librarians in far more movies but that would take me a long time so consider this a work in progress…maybe…

11 responses to “Movies, My Favourite Subject! Let’s Include Librarians!

  1. Noah Wylie is my favourite movie librarian! Next I would like a post about BOOKS with librarian characters. Even librarian main characters, to narrow it down. Yay!

  2. I’m enjoying your new blog, Kathryn! If you get a chance, check out Party Girl. It was recommended to me by a student who was curious if life as a librarian is anything like it is in the movie.

  3. Kathryn!
    Great blog! I’m going to add it to my favourites. I didn’t realize there were so many movies with librarians in them. My favourite one is Desk Set. It’s where I learned all the names of Santa’s reindeer.

    So glad you’re back in Ontario. Can hardly wait to see you. Cheers!

  4. Here, is your whining and bitter rhetoric.

    Um, the despicable librarian is right!! You’re forgetting that without Bob Newhart, Jane Curtin and Excalibur, he wouldn’t be much of a librarian, now would he?
    Hey, he wasn’t actually! Jane had more balls than he did! Ooops, I’m giving away the plot!! ;o(
    But Indiana Jones, he’s not! Not even the dog Indiana!! Watta wanna be!!
    Signed,
    The Judas Chalice!

  5. If you’s WANT a real live action hero librarian that’s …………..MALE, and also “Pretty in Pink” YES!!

    Look here: http://images2.fanpop.com/images/photos/3700000/Rupert-Giles-buffy-the-vampire-slayer-3725213-1024-768.jpg

    Then send me your checks in the mail for pointing out the Obvious!

    • Well…he still had to use his brains and his wits…it’s not like Bob or Jane were out in the field risking their lives!

      And for Giles, I haven’t done my librarian’s on TV post yet…he is a definite show!

  6. Pingback: Your Garden

  7. Pingback: Episode 130 – Going To The Library « THE HURDLED NERD

Leave a Reply

